2022 Yearbook staff breaks awards records

It’s a been a record breaking year for the 2022 yearbook staff. They have won five national awards.

2023 editor in chief Izzy Waldschmidt & 2023 photo editor Kevin Vazquez receive their awards.


National Scholastic Press Association – Two photo winners – only 10 photos are chosen each year as finalists in each category

Kevin Vazquez (12) – Feature Photo Honorable Mention

Yasmine Khoury (2022 graduate) – Environmental Portrait 4th place

Here is the link to the award winning photos: https://studentpress.org/nspa/2022-photo-of-the-year/


Journalism Education Association National Student Media Contests – This contest was held in November while the yearbook students were in St. Louis at the National High School Journalism Convention.

Izzy Waldschmidt (12) – Yearbook Layout Inside Page Honorable Mention – only six awards were given in this category


Quill & Scroll International Honorary Society for High School Journalists 2022 Yearbook Excellence Contest

Tatyana Donald (2022 graduate) – Class A Headline Writing & Design 2nd place

Kevin Vazquez (12) – Feature Photo 2nd place

Kevin Vazquez
Yasmine Khoury
Tatyana Donald